Your Cart


Your cart is empty

Beausoleil & Michael Douc - Make the Veiller

Beausoleil & Michael Douc: Make the Veiller (CD)


Beausoleil & Michael Douc

£26.99 Free Shipping

Music Genre
Media Format
Audio CD

Hurry! Limited Stock - Usually ships within 24 hours

Buy Add to my wish list


Formed in 1975 by fiddler Michael Doucet, Beausoleil has always kept the traditional music of Acadiana at the center of things, even as the group has expanded and brought elements of jazz, zydeco, blues, calypso, and swamp pop into the music. They're also a dance band, and though the group has recorded several albums, and gone through fairly frequent personnel changes (Doucet and his brother, guitarist David Doucet, are the constants at the core of the band), Beausoleil's mix of loose 2-steps, stately waltzes, and swampy dance reels have always been structured for motion and movement. This set, recorded live in an intimate setting with a small audience in 2007, serves as a sort of career retrospective for this impressive little band, always at its best when there's a dancefloor in sight. Highlights include the gloriously lurching "Cajun Crawl," the swampy stomp of "Zydeco Gris Gris," and the post-Katrina poignancy of "Mardi Gras Song," but all of the 14 tracks on the CD are cut from the same delightful cloth. Also included is a DVD of the show, and the combination provides a great portrait of a stubbornly consistent and still fun and vital band some 30-plus years into things. Steve Leggett.

Product Details

Beausoleil & Michael Douc
Label / Studio
Recording Environment
Media Content Format
Original year of release
Number of Discs
Year of release
Cast & Crew
BeauSoleil (Music Performer)


Disc 1:

  1. Acadian Two Step (4:59)
  2. Reel de Dennis McGee (3:24)
  3. Tu Peut Pas Me Refuser (3:13)
  4. Cajun Crawl (2:40)
  5. Klfy Waltz (3:38)
  6. Grand Mallett (4:25)
  7. Evangeline Waltz (5:19)
  8. Zydeco Gris Gris (5:59)
  9. Reel de Nez-Pique (4:49)
  10. Valse Des Grandes Meches (4:21)
  11. Jig Francais (5:10)
  12. Mardi Gras Song (6:13)
  13. Jeunes Filles de la Compagne (3:54)
  14. Bye Bye Boozoo (3:10)

Disc 2:

  1. Acadian Two Step [DVD]
  2. Valse de Port Arthur [DVD]
  3. Tu Peut Pas Me Refuser [DVD]
  4. Plus Tu Tournes [DVD]
  5. Que Torue [DVD]
  6. Klfy Waltz [DVD]
  7. Sur le Courtableau [DVD]
  8. Evangeline Waltz [DVD]
  9. Chere Bebe [DVD]
  10. Chanson d'Acadie [DVD]
  11. Reel de Nez-Pique [DVD]
  12. Valse Des Grandes Meches [DVD]
  13. Jig Francais [DVD]
  14. Madame Soustain [DVD]
  15. Jeunes Filles de la Compagne [DVD]
  16. Soleil Brille [DVD]
  17. Bye Bye Boozoo [DVD]