All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock












9DW (Nine Days Wonder)

9DW (Nine Days Wonder)

  • By 9dw
  • Release 21/05/2008
  • Music Genre Electronic
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: £16.94
privacy policy

Product Notes

Formed in 1997, Tokyo-based 9dw (Nine Days Wonder) have already gained legendary status in their native country and are fast developing a reputation outside. The band initially started out as a jagged, hardcore fused math-pop outfit that cris-crossed Japan, wowing audiences wherever they went, helped along by a handful of releases on their own fledgling Catune label. Overseas interest soon followed with records on San Francisco-based Dim Mak and Czech based Day After Records (the latter resulting in a seven country tour of Europe in 2004). Line-up changes saw the band placed on hold in 2006, becoming a solo project for founding member Kensuke Saito. Experimenting in the studio with more soulful, funky forms, 9dw re-emerged in 2007 with a brand new sound and band members to boot. Drafting in old friends Koji Sato (drums) Jota Sato (bass) and Ryota Hayashida (synths, engineering), the first release from the new line-up was a self-titled three-track EP 'EP2007' which clearly mapped out the new direction. An eponomously titled full-length album followed in April 2008, winning widespread praise and acclaim both in Japan and overseas for it's effortless fusion of funk, jazz and electronics, at all times underpinned by the mastery of Saito's fluid guitar and distinctive keyboards. Extensive touring followed with the band honing it's inspired live show to the delight of audiences around Japan. In February 2009, the band released a twelve-inch featuring remixes of the song 'Migrant' from the album. 'Clearly a gifted group of musicians that give good reason to be excited about the future of funky hybrid music' -Aja West (CEO Mackrosoft LLC Conductor/Composer/Producer) 'Consistently dope from beginning to end. Satisfies like a coconut popsicle on a warm summer's day' -The Cheebacabra (Mackrosoft, Dust Brothers) 'The new recording from Tokyo's 9dw is a true audio diamond. Catchy, interesting, and good for dancing' - Joshua Larue (Played Tomorrow, Him) 'It's very fresh and crisp, a great piece of work.. The guitar and keyboard sounds are so rich, I like to listen when I drive!!' - Rob Smith 'Really unique work from this hip Japanese combo...There's a nice sense of warmth to the whole record...kind of a combination of the core essence of 70s fusion with a slight 21st Century vibe!' - Dusty Groove 'Spacey electronic jazz-fusion from the Land of the Rising Sun! Thirteen cuts that make fusion fresh again' - Wax Poetics.


Artist: 9dw
Title: 9DW (Nine Days Wonder)
Genre: Electronic
Release Date: 21/05/2008
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 4580275740079


  • Artist(s)
We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details