All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock












Catskills Cry

Catskills Cry

  • By Aaron Comess
  • Release 29/08/2006
  • Music Genre Jazz
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: £15.27

Product Notes

Catskills Cry, marks drummer Aaron Comess' debut instrumental album. Armed with a years worth of original material written and influenced by a variety of landscapes from Anguilla, to Manhattan to the Catskill Mountains, the album takes listeners through a myriad of lush, ethereal, moody, intensely appealing songs. To date, drummer Aaron Comess, a founding member of the Grammy nominated, ten million plus album selling band Spin Doctors, has played on and/or produced over fifty albums with an acclaimed and diverse roster of artists such as, Joan Osborne, Chris Whitley, Rachael Yamagata, Bilal, New York Electric Piano and Marc Cohen. With accomplished guitar player Bill Dillon (has played with Robbie Robertson, Joni Mitchell, Sarah McLachlan), Tony Levin on bass and stick, best known for his work with King Crimson, John Lennon and Peter Gabriel, and Comess on drums and in the role of producer, the record was recorded in Woodstock New York at Flymax Studio. Of the direction and feel of Catskills Cry, Comess says, "I have been very influenced by the way Bill Frizell and Daniel Lanois put their instrumental music records together. I wanted to create an album that had a deep mood with a strong sense of melody yet an album that allowed us musicians playing together room for personal and creative interpretation. - A record that I could sit back and enjoy listening to" "To be able to have my material played by Bill Dillon and Tony Levin was an amazing experience. Besides being experienced side -men, all of us are also composers and understand the value of creative interpretation. The chemistry was apparent from the first note; I look forward to playing with these guys again." Each composition is unique in it's feel, yet when listened to as a whole, Comess' Catskills Cry is a fluid, immensely enjoyable, smooth ride. "I feel like I made an album that brings listeners to many different places through a variety of moods yet has a common thematic thread throughout." A welcome addition to the world of instrumental music, Catskills Cry is an album worthy of some serious attention and listening time.


Artist: Aaron Comess
Title: Catskills Cry
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 29/08/2006
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 783707403045
This product is a special order


We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details