All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock









While We're Young

While We're Young

Share Twitter
Price: £15.44

Product Notes

Described by Jazzwise as a 'mature, confident and highly musical personality', Aisling Lavelle has performed at all the major London jazz clubs with players including Bobby Wellins, Kit Downes and Barry Green. She sang as a guest at the Worshipful Company of Musicians 2007 Jazz Musician competition and impressed with her thoughtful intepretation and 'excellent scatting'. She has already developed a deep appreciation of jazz harmony and style which is beautifully showcased by the wide range of material on this record. Her approach to singing combines the sensibility of an instrumentalist with a distinctive and engaging voice. She draws on players such as John Taylor, Tom Cawley and Wayne Shorter as well as vocalists including Tina May and Nancy Wilson. Sam Hogarth was a finalist at the 2009 inaugural Nottingham National Jazz Piano Competition, giving an 'excellent performance' (Nottingham Evening Post) and playing with 'consummate precision, grace and aplomb' (Left Lion). On a visit to New York this summer he performed as a guest at the world-famous Small's Jazz Club and studied with Jason Moran, one of his idols, and Barry Harris. Art Tatum, Teddy Wilson and Chick Corea are also major influences on his playing. Also active as a composer and conductor, Sam's excellent classical technique is allied with a passionate love of the jazz tradition to give his playing it's unique sound. Two of his original compositions were included on the soundtrack to the 2007 Angelina Jolie film A Mighty Heart, and tracks from his first solo album, Song for Someone, have been aired on national radio since being added to the Classic FM playlist. Aisling and Sam met at Westminster Cathedral Hall, where they first played together in 2005. Since then the partnership has blossomed, and this duo recording follows appearances all over London, including their recent debut at the Pizza Express Jazz Club. They have also performed in Bassiano, Italy ('uno spettacolo straordinario' - Latina Oggi) and at numerous venues around the south of England. 'Aisling and Sam have a great connection that shines through with each track on this record. Sam's piano playing provides a strong swing and groove when necessary but there are also some beautifully subtle and understated moments of interplay too. Aisling's vocals are effortless and show serious maturity, she also has a unique way of phrasing melody, which is refreshing to hear. It's a good debut recording, check it out!' - Richard Fairhurst.


Artist: Aisling Lavelle & Sam Hogarth
Title: While We're Young
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 30/06/2009
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 884502098471
This product is a special order