In Stock














(Boxed Set, With Book)
  • By Steve Wynn
  • Release 23/10/2020
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Sold out - We don’t know when or if this will be available again.

Product Notes

Steve Wynn first gained fame as lead singer and songwriter for the legendary Paisley Underground outfit The Dream Syndicate. But his post-Dream Syndicate solo career is the equal of any indie-rock singer-songwriter you’d care to name. Now, Real Gone Music and Steve Wynn have joined forces to release Decade (yup, the Neil Young reference is deliberate), an 11-CD set that chronicles, with lavish deluxe editions, the guitar-driven albums Wynn recorded between 1995 and 2005, most of which have been long out-of-print.

The statistics on this box set are mind-blowing: 166 tracks, 57 of them totally unreleased, plus 31 other rarities! That’s right…over half of this 11-CD set consists of either hitherto unknown recordings or tracks that have been almost impossible to find! As for the other tracks, they hail from the following albums: the American releases Melting In The Dark, Sweetness and Light, My Midnight, Here Come The Miracles, Static Transmission, and …Tick…Tick…Tick, and the German-only compilation entitled The Emusic Singles Collection (rare tracks from another European-only release, a collection of rarities entitled Pick of the Litter, appear here as well).

So where do all the unreleased tracks come from? Well, during this 10-year period, Steve Wynn recorded dozens of songs – sometimes at home and occasionally in a proper studio. Many of those songs got re-recorded and revamped and became key memorable parts of his catalog. Other songs got tossed away and forgotten.

For Decade, long-time Steve Wynn (and Dream Syndicate) archivist Pat Thomas in cooperation with Steve Wynn listened to about a hundred hours of unreleased tapes and compiled this amazing box set that not only includes remastered (by Mike Milchner of SonicVision) versions of some of Steve Wynn’s best albums but also the first American release of the two rare European only titles. And – it bears saying again – 57 previously unreleased recordings that not even hardcore tape traders have heard! And 31 other rarities that only the most devoted fan could possibly have.

Several of these albums were recorded with Steve Wynn’s core band of Linda Pitmon on drums, Dream Syndicate guitarist Jason Victor, and long-time Miracle 3 bass player Dave DeCastro. Along the way, there are appearances from Green On Red keyboardist Chris Cacavas, Giant Sand’s Howe Gelb, indie chanteuse Barbara Manning, Chris Brokaw & Thalia Zedek of Come, Tony Maimone of Pere Ubu, John Convertino of Calexico, Rich Gilbert and many others.

With so much material, you need a program…and so Steve Wynn himself has penned very detailed notes that tell the stories behind the origins of all 57 previously unreleased songs! Plus essays from box set producer Pat Thomas and several of Wynn’s long time bandmates. And a pile of previously unseen photos from Linda Pitmon’s archives – most of them taken by Linda herself. All inside a mammoth, full-color, 48-page book!

A Decade of Steve Wynn. You need this. It won’t stay in print forever. Maybe not even a decade.

  • Steve Wynn First Gained Fame as the Lead Singer and Songwriter for the Renowned Paisley Underground Band The Dream Syndicate
  • But His Post-Dream Syndicate Solo Career Rivals That of Any Indie-Rock Singer-Songwriter
  • Now, Steve Wynn and Real Gone Music Have Joined Forces to Release the 11-CD Set Decade
  • Chronicles with Lavish Deluxe Editions the Guitar-Driven Albums Wynn Released from 1995-2005, Most of Which Have Long Been Out of Print
  • Includes the U.S. releases Melting In The Dark, Sweetness and Light, My Midnight, Here Come The Miracles, Static Transmission, and …Tick…Tick…Tick, and the German- Only Compilation Entitled The Emusic Singles Collection
  • Also Features Tracks from the European-Only Rarities Comp Pick of the Litter
  • Some Albums Expanded to Two CDs with Bonus Material
  • All Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision
  • 166 Tracks
  • 57 Unreleased Tracks Plus 31 Other Rarities
  • Compiled from Marathon Listening Sessions by Wynn and Steve Wynn (and Dream Syndicate) Archivist Pat Thomas
  • Some Albums Feature Wynn’s Core Band of Linda Pitmon on Drums, Dream Syndicate Guitarist Jason Victor, and Long-Time Miracle 3 Bass Player Dave DeCastro
  • Also Making an Appearance Are Green On Red Keyboardist Chris Cacavas, Giant Sand’s Howe Gelb, Indie Chanteuse Barbara Manning, Chris Brokaw & Thalia Zedek of Come, Tony Maimone of Pere Ubu, John Convertino of Calexico, Rich Gilbert, and Many Others
  • Full-Color 48-Page Book Highlighted by Wynn’s Notes on All 57 Unreleased Songs
  • Also Includes an Essay from Archivist Pat Thomas and Several of Wynn’s Musical Comrades
  • Tons of Unreleased Photos
  • The Ultimate (and We Do Mean Ultimate) Steve Wynn Collection

Steve Wynn DECADE


Artist: Steve Wynn
Title: Decade
Genre: Rock
Attributes: Boxed Set, With Book
Release Date: 23/10/2020
Label: Real Gone Music
Number of Discs: 11
Media Format: CD
UPC: 848064009016


We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details