All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock












Won't Give Up

Won't Give Up

  • By HLMP B
  • Release 11/10/2010
  • Music Genre Jazz
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: £14.94
privacy policy

Product Notes

This is the long awaited follow up CD to the first HLMP CD released back in 2003. The band features guitarists Keith Howland and Chris Pinnick, both from different eras of the legendary band Chicago, Lance Morrison on bass (Alanis Morrisette, Don Henley), Matt Laug on drums (Alanis Morrisette, Slash), and Jeff Babko on keys (James Taylor, Toto, Jimmy Kimmel Band). The band was born back in 2003 when two guitarists sharing the same band (Chicago) were introduced by the band's guitar tech Hank Stieger. Keith and Chris hit it off immediately and decided to make a CD of all instrumental guitar songs. Keith enlisted the help of longtime friends Lance Morrison and Matt Laug on bass and drums. The result was 'friendly competition' amongst the two guitarists and a live energy that is hard to miss. Fast forward a few years and it felt like time to jump into another CD with the band. Jeff Babko originally had lent his keyboard services to the first record and had performed with the band on the 'Live At The Baked Potato' CD. His contributions were so great that it warranted making him part of the 'band' this time around. Thus the 'B' in HLMP B was added. Jason Scheff, vocalist and bassist from the band Chicago offered his studio and production skills to the project and the stage was set. Once again, the rhythm section was tracked live, even with some of the solos and melodies making the final cut. Jeff Babko's keys are much more prominent on the new CD with REAL B3, Rhodes, and Whirly as well as great retro synth sounds throughout. The great Ray Herrmann (Brian Setzer Orchestra, Toto, Chicago) added some Tenor and Soprano sax, adding even more sonic diversity. The end result is a more 'mature' offering from the band with much of the same energy of the original but with a wider range of textures and styles. The cut 'Won't Give Up' was originally going to be an instrumental tune but Jeff's catchy riff just screamed for a vocal. As a result, the first vocal tune from the band was born. Chris Pinnick brought a concept song idea to the table in which each of the three soloists (Keith, Chris, Jeff) would compose a song over the same exact rhythm track that never deviates from a static F vamp. The result is three completely different songs with very different approaches. From the Dregs like opener 'Berlin Wall' to the 70s retro tune 'Say So' there is something for everyone here. Making this type of CD is really a labor of love, with the primary goal being to share the experience of making music with you, the listener. We hope you join the party!


Artist: HLMP B
Title: Won't Give Up
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 11/10/2010
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 884502795882


We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details