All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock









Butterfly Flies

Butterfly Flies

  • By Jeffrey Lilly
  • Release 14/07/2009
  • Music Genre Spoken
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: £14.32

Product Notes

Jeffrey Lilly is a Jewish gay poet whose varying perspectives are reflected on this CD. His signature poem is 'Rainbow Folk,' which embraces the broad spectrum of humanity. Jeffrey was inspired to create a poetry music recording by Beats such as Allen Ginsberg. The Butterfly Flies is produced by Jeffrey Lilly Presents, poetry and voice are by Jeffrey Lilly., voice recorded by Command Productions, music recorded by Dubway Studios and Acme Recording Studios, music composed by Jonathan Comisar, piano, the main instrument, played by Jonathan Comisar, flute and clarinet by Mike Cohen, and clarinet for the niggun at the end by Ivan Barenboim. The graphics and typesetting are by Jill Johnson of Command Productions, duplication and printing by Command Productions, and the mix by Rob Dickson of Command Productions in collaboration with Jonathan Comisar and Jeffrey Lilly. Jeffrey Lilly is a co-editor with Jack Mueller of "Art Mugs the Reaper," a literary and artistic anthology or "quilt" by writers and artists who have died of AIDS. The work is in progress. Jeffrey is also a poet and translator who is a former board member of the National Poetry Association. Previously, he produced "Promised Land Poems.." He is a graduate of Duke University with an AB in political science. He also holds masters degrees in Russian language and literature and Comparative Literature from San Francisco State University. Jonathan Comisar began his music career at the Eastman School of Music where he won the Eastman Young Artists award. He studied piano and music at Oberlin and, after graduation, studied with Pulitzer Prize winning composer David Del Tredici. Jonathan is an invested Cantor with a Masters in Sacred Music from the Hebrew Union College School of Sacred Music. He is also a noted composer of Jewish liturgical music who has received commisions and artist residencies from synagogues across America. He is now a faculty member at Hebrew Union College where he teaches courses on arranging, orchestration and composition. Additionally, he is working on two musical theater productions.. Mike Cohen has performed with the Duke Ellington Band, Ray Vega, Steven Bernstein, Arturo O'Farrell and Harvey S., just to name a few. He has played in noteworthy venues such as Lincoln Center, Birdland, Tonic, Satalla and Weill Hall at Carnegie Hall. The quintet assembled to record his new disc, Open Window, recorded at famed Bennett Studio, are some of the finest jazz musicians playing in New York city today. Mike has said "it was an honor" to have Pete Brendler, Rich Huntley, Soren Moller and Amanda Monaco on the "Open Window" disc. Ivan Barenboim, originally from Buenas Aires, Argentina,. is an accomplished clarinetist and recorder player. He has played throughout Argentina, Europe and the United States. His music has been performed at the Teatro National Cervantes in Buenas Aires, at Sala Beckett in Barcelona Spain and at the GREC Festival de Barcelona. Ivan lives in New York and since 2007 has been Artist in Residence at Central Synagogue. 'The Butterfly Flies" is dedicated to the writers and artists of the world who have died of AIDS.


Artist: Jeffrey Lilly
Title: Butterfly Flies
Genre: Spoken
Release Date: 14/07/2009
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 782478925121
This product is a special order