All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock









Written on the Horizon [Import]

Written on the Horizon [Import]

  • By Joey Summer
  • Release 18/06/2010
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: £13.78

Product Notes

In the era of the internet every music lover has the great chance to broaden it's musical horizon. Some tap into new musical genres, while others discover artists from foreign countries performing exactly the kind of music that already put a spell on them for years or even decades. In the case of Brazilian Melodic Rocker Joey Summer all fans should take note having records in their collection by the Melodic Rock and AOR greats of the 80s and by their heirs. The lively music scene of Brazil is home to many bands having an affinity to bands like the Scorpions, Bon Jovi, Whitesnake, Europe, Winger, Def Leppard and Journey. Besides Joey's upcoming album there have been released quite a few albums through European labels during the last couple of months from this musically very active South American country by artists like Auras, N.O.W. and Highest Dream. The musical history of Joey already started in his childhood, encouraged by his mother, an opera singer, he learned to use his voice at a very youg age. After getting in contact with Rock music in his early teen years he started playing in bands and writing songs. Together with his brother Geremias he formed his first own band the age of 14. Over the course of the years Joey became a professional musician and songwriter. First signs of success could be seen with the Rock group "Karma" and the AOR band "Arena". During their two-year existence "Arena" released one album and the band also marked the beginning of the partnership with keyboard player Daniel Lamas, who also contributed to Joey's first solo album "Nascer", a Rock record in his mother tongue Portuguese. Daniel was an integral part of "Written On The Horizon" as well. With "Written On The Horizon" Joey Summer now presents his first album with all English lyrics to a worldwide audience. Initial aid came from internationally renowned musicians & song writers, who contributed to the recordings in addition to the experienced Brazilian line-up of Daniel Lamas (keyboards), Markcell (bass) and Renan Martins (drums), that Joey has gathered around himself. The guest list includes Jaded Heart bass player Michael Müller performing on "Anymore", a track penned by Michael Bormann. Together with Brazilian bassist Julio Cezar, the Swedes Göran Edman (Street Talk, Yngwie Malmsteen, Glory) and Fredrik Bergh (Street Talk, Bloodbound), can be heard on their Street Talk song "Don't Believe". The duo has also provided another Street Talk track in the form of "Tables Turning", which is included here in Joey's own more rocking version. The fourth composition by others, "Rough Ride To Paradise", was written by ex-Europe guitarist Kee Marcello and it nicely rounds out the album. Joey's own song writing skills are on a very high international level as well, as you can witness on his always catchy and Arena Rock ready tracks like the bombastic, hard rocking opener "Rise Up", the anthemic title track "Written On The Horizon" and the extremely catchy "Lorea", a song destined for radio airplay. "Beating" and "Brand New Day", are two more midtempo rockers celebrating the classic AOR style of the 80s. The quieter moments are covered by "It's Only Your Love" and "I'll Never Be Alone Again", two power ballads with a very slight touch of Latin sounds. (Words : Gregor Klee) 01) Rise Up (4:43 - written by Joey Summer / Daniel Lamas) 02) Anymore (6:13 - Michael Bormann) 03) Written On The Horizon (4:29 - Joey Summer) 04) Don't Believe (4:41 - Fredrik Bergh / Göran Edman) 05) It's Only Your Love (4:48 - Joey Summer) 06) Lorea (3:20 - Joey Summer) 07) I'll Never Be Alone Again (3:57 - Joey Summer) 08) Tables Turning (4:34 - Fredrik Bergh / Göran Edman) 09) Beating (3:34 - Joey Summer / Daniel Lamas) 10) Brand New Day (5:03 - Joey Summer / Daniel Lamas) 11) Rough Ride To Paradise (4:13 - Kee Marcello) Produced by Joey Summer Musicians : Joey Summer: Lead and backing vocals, guitars Daniel Lamas: Keyboards and Backing vocals Markcell: Bass Renan Martins: Drums Additional guest musicians: Michael Müller (Bass on "Anymore") Göran Edman (Backing Vocals on "Don't Believe") Fredrik Bergh (Keyboards on "Don't Believe") Julio Cezar (Bass on "Don't Believe")


Artist: Joey Summer
Title: Written on the Horizon [Import]
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 18/06/2010
Label: Avenue of Allies
Media Format: CD
UPC: 884502483550
This product is a special order