All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock












Traveling By Moonlight

Traveling By Moonlight

Share Twitter
Price: £10.50

Product Notes

Having performed together on and off since 2004, Anna Mae Mitchell and G. Pat Harris have finally teamed up to release their debut album, Traveling By Moonlight. Containing 12 original songs steeped in Americana, and recorded at Austin's own Greenhaven Studios, Traveling By Moonlinght will be available in local stores and online retailers on Tuesday, November 8, 2011. From the opening newgrass stylings of "Run from the Ocean," to the back porch closing of "Waiting for Tomorrow," Traveling By Moonlight displays Harris' songwriting and production skills though a cohesive listening experience, from spacious ballads like "Home" to the arena rock anthem "Lost at Sea." On tracks like the reflective "Dry Your Eyes" and outlaw tale "The Canyon," Mitchell employs a restrained elegance in her delivery, while on rockers "New Day," and the bluegrass tinged "Overgrown Graveyard," she unleashes her full vocal prowess. With a refreshingly live and spontaneous feeling throughout, these hook heavy songs capture the sense of the players delighting in each other's musical company and convey a sense of optimism even on the album's most somber songs. Mitchell and Harris are joined by some of Austin's finest musicians to bring this collection of original music to life. Mandolin virtuoso Paul Glasse (Allison Krauss, Lyle Lovett, Willie Nelson) and ace violinist James Anderson (Austin Piazzolla Quintet, 16 Strings) make appearances while Wayne Salzmann (Eric Johnson) and Graeme Francis (Austin Symphony Orchestra, American Repertory Ensemble) drive the music forward on drums and percussion. Aaron Goldfarb (Leah and the Moonlighters) and Downbeat award winner Carter Arrington (Malford Milligan) provide the guitars that range from subtle acoustic fingerpicking to ripping solo lines. Anna Mae Mitchell and G. Pat Harris bring a unique excitement to the world of roots music. Their superb musicianship, captivating songs, charming stage presence, and love of performing create a lasting connection with every audience. Their music maintains a tie with traditional Americana while creating a freshness through musical curiosity and exploration with the inclusion of jazz, classical, and world music influences, and they have been getting positive attention from music lovers and critics though playing some of the best rooms in central Texas. 'Mitchell's clear, powerful soprano is a dream for the soulful kind of songs that Harris composes.' - Bangor Daily News.


Artist: Mitchell & Harris
Title: Traveling By Moonlight
Genre: Folk
Release Date: 07/11/2011
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 700261338521
This product is a special order