All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock











Piano Concertos No. 20 KV 466 & No. 21 KV 467

Piano Concertos No. 20 KV 466 & No. 21 KV 467

  • By Arthur Schoonderwoerd
  • Release 28/02/2012
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: £13.02

Product Notes

Mozart: Piano Concertos No 20 & 21 / Arthur Schoonderwoerd, Cristofori, Mozart / Schoonderwoerd, Release Date: 02/28/2012, Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Performer: Arthur Schoonderwoerd, Conductor: Arthur Schoonderwoerd, Orchestra/Ensemble: Cristofori, Number of Discs: 1. The present recording of the Piano Concertos KV 466 & 467 is the starting point for the complete collection of Mozart piano concertos to be issued by the label Accent. Arthur Schoonderwoerd, in great demand as a hammerklavier performer, and his ensemble Cristofori play on authentic instruments of the period or modern reproductions. The string parts in the orchestral accompaniment are played by only one musician per part, producing a slender, transparent tone which supports the hammerklavier without ever dominating it's fine tone. The fortepiano is a copy of an instrument made by Anton Walter (Vienna, ca. 1782) with a silvery tone more reminiscent of a harpsichord, but with extensively greater dynamic possibilities. This tonal spectrum is most apparent in the cadenzas which are improvised by Arthur Schoonderwoerd as was customary in Mozart's time. The two piano concertos are highly contrasting in character despite being composed within four weeks of each other during the spring of 1785. KV 467 is a virtuoso and largely buoyant bravura work, whereas the somber and dramatic atmosphere of KV 466 is stylistically far beyond it's time. In his extensive accompanying essay, Arthur Schoonderwoerd establishes a fascinating correlation between this work and Mozart's biography: the three movements of the D minor concerto are depicted as the detailed musical representation of the Freemasons' initiation rites for the apprentice or journey man and the master.


Title: Piano Concertos No. 20 KV 466 & No. 21 KV 467
Release Date: 28/02/2012
Label: Accent Records
Media Format: CD
UPC: 4015023242654
Item #: 828071X
We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details