All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock











Share Twitter
Price: £10.36

Product Notes

Los Angeles based electronic band Palenke Soultribe presents it's new album 'Oro.' Oro is the first album of a trilogy making allusion to the colors of the Colombian Flag; Yellow (Oro), Blue (Downtempo) and Red (Dance/Electronica). In contrast to their previous album, 'Tropic n' Heaven' (2007), 'Oro' gives more prominence to organic indigenous Afro-Colombian Rhythms and instruments in search of a balance between acoustic and electronic. The album was mixed by Mark Needham, best known for working as a mixer engineer and producers for The Killers, Cake, Fleetwood Mac, The Bloc Party among others. One of the highlights of this album is the collaboration with international artists like Locos Por Juana (Miami), Cesar Pliego of Kinky (L.A-Monterrey) and Sr. Mendez (L.A-Venezuela) that adds different flavors and textures to their album. 'No Voy a Morir,' (Track 1) features Natasha Perez and Fernanda Karolys. Perez is a singer songwriter from Venezuela and Karolys is the vocalist of Helios Jive, both artists are based in Los Angeles. 'Palenke from the Jungle,' (Track 2) is a radio version of a song that appeared on their previous album, Tropic n' Heaven. This radio edit received routine radio play on Indie 103.1 FM Los Angeles. 'It's Not Your Fault' (Track 3) is a collaboration with Cesar Pliego, Toddy Ivy and Alejandro Lozano. Pliego is the bassist for the Grammy Winner band Kinky. Toddy Ivy is an American musician who has collaborated with other electronic artists in Los Angeles. Lozano is the guitar player for Superlitio (Latin Grammy Nominee 2005) 'Choroni' (Track 4) and 'Te Veo' (Track 6 ) are co-produced with Latin Grammy Winner Sr. Mendez. Mendez co-produced four songs with Calle 13 in the 'Residente o Visitante' album (2007), which subsequently won a Grammy as best Latin Alternative Album (2008) and a Latin Grammy as Best Urban Song of the Year (2007). 'Corazon Bonito' (Track 5) features Cesar Pliego on the bass and Mr. Vallenato on the accordion. Mr. Vallenato has performed Colombian Folk Accordion music since he was 12. He is curiously not Colombian, but Mexican American and from Texas. 'Celosa'(Track 7) is a collaboration with Reggae/Cumbia/Funk band Locos Por Juana from Miami. Locos Por Juana was nominated for the 51st Grammy Awards (2009) as Best Latin Alternative Artist. In 2005 they where nominated to the Latin Grammy's as best Latin Alternative Artist as well. 'Popular Music' (Track 8) is a co-produced with Elastic Bond (EB) from Miami, a song that highlights the combination of progressive house with delayed voices by Sofi Encanto (EB) and the Colombian Cumbia drumming by Alan Reyna, percussionist of Locos Por Juana. 'No Voy a Morir Remix,' (Track 9) is produced by Montana Jose, a Producer, Performance Artist and DJ from Montana based in L.A. 'Choroni Remix' (Track 10) remixed by Colombian Minimal Techno Producer Blanali (Xela Digital Records,) whose tracks are played by the best European Minimal Tech Djs.


Artist: Palenke Soultribe
Title: Oro
Genre: Electronic
Release Date: 30/06/2009
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 811204011187