All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock









So It Goes

So It Goes

  • By Rollyn Zoubek
  • Release 29/06/2004
  • Music Genre Folk
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: £11.18

Product Notes

Family myth has it that singer-songwriter Rollyn Zoubek came out singing, and picked up her first guitar when she was eight. While the church choir in her Connecticut home was an early training ground, it was open mikes at the Neutral Ground Coffee House in New Orleans during college days at Tulane that jump-started her musical career. It was a 1997 move to Boston and the creative pairing with Scott Bryant, former lead guitarist of In the Attic, that brought the rave reviews for original songs such as 'Carry Me,' 'Shifting Sand' and 'Whisper Peace' which were included in an international lineup of independent artists on The Awakening Compilation, Vol. 2, and Grassroots Music_s Dialects. 'Zoubek and Bryant's form of folk transcends your commonplace coffee house variety,' wrote Steven Stuart Baldwin of the Phantom Tollbooth. 'Their songwriting skills and talented delivery will cause you to perk right up and take notice. Caffeinated beverages not required.' Produced by Wade Baynham of The Basics, Zoubek and Bryant's first recording, Hinge, was released to a sold-out crowd at Boston's legendary folk venue Club Passim in '99. The phantom Tollbooth review of the album stated: 'Rollyn Zoubek's female lead vocals are that rare form of world-class artistry that must be heard. She sings both deftly and emotionally, without resorting to either emotionalism or blatant showmanship.' Even Art Garfunkle weighed in: 'This is my kind of music.' Following the release of their first record, Zoubek and Bryant took to the road with Awakening Records on the Spring Forward 2000 tour, performing in colleges, coffee houses, clubs and churches across the United States. A guitar workshop with Brooks Williams in the fall of 2000 led to Zoubek's solo project, So It Goes, produced by the veteran folk artist and internationally acclaimed fingerstyle guitarist. So It Goes is a showcase for Zoubek's rich alto voice, her moving and humorous songwriting, and her talented interpretations of other folk gems (such as Julie Miller). Accompanied by Williams's brilliant guitar work, deft percussion by Scott Kessell (of the Rani Arbo and Daisy Mayhem Band), soaring fiddle lines by Hanneke Cassel, and rich mandolin by Lee Kizer (of Spinoza), So It Goes ranges from bluegrass to folk to gospel. Rollyn has recently collaborated with close friends Rachel Taylor and Courtney Reid (formerly of Scarlet Haven) to form the trio 'Maeve.' Maeve's first record, produced by Phil Madeira, is schedule to be released in February of 2004. Check out Rollyn's schedule of shows to catch her peforming solo, with Maeve, and also with Brooks Williams. Contact Information: Snail Mail: P.O. Box 265, Marblehead, MA 01945 email:


Artist: Rollyn Zoubek
Title: So It Goes
Genre: Folk
Release Date: 29/06/2004
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 714797010325