All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock









Do Your Own Thang!

Do Your Own Thang!

Share Twitter
Price: £17.19

Product Notes

This is the 5th CD from Will Dunlap and his band.'Do Your Own Thang!'is a compilation CD with performances and songwriting by 'Oily'Jack,Shann Scully and Carl Childs! BIO: Will's grandmother was a soprano on Broadway who worked with and knew personally the great Irving Berlin! From an early age Will learned a lot about performance from sitting at the piano and watching her sing and play classics from the 30's 40's and 50's. Will grew up also listening to his dad singing and playing folk guitars at local parties ect....In the 1970's Will was a drummer who helped build the Denver based 'Lightning' into a successful rock and roll show band.During those days 'Wild' Will was known simply as Bill Dunlap.They used to have regular jam sessions with the likes of the now internationally famous sax player Nelson Rangell.He later studied drums at Berkley College of Music in Boston and Bass & music theory at North Texas State in Denton Tx.In 1980 Will moved to Austin and got his first shot when singer Vicky Southern took his songs into the studio to record with some of Austin's best.During this period he co-wrote lots of songs with friend Mark Dorsey and first met his long term band mates: Carl Childs,Sam McBurnett and J.D. Higginbotham.Will,Carl and the boys had two Austin Bands that played all the old haunts. In the 90's he freelanced as the drummer with the J.W. Davis Jazz group that featured the late great Pat Patterson on trumpet!Latin Percussionist Jorge DeArmas joined the band in 1995 and Viola player Rob Radmer added his talents in 2001.The rest is History! From'Old Steamboat,Joe's Generic and Chicago House' in the eighties to 'Liberty Lunch,Flamingo Cantina and 'The Austin Music Hall' in the 90's Will and his various bands have done their time in the ranks.Now days Will plays every Tuesday at Waterloo Ice House 38th and Medical pkwy 7-9pm.He also has joined up with the all star 'Rockin'Gospel Project' group who have been featured in a documentary about the life of Maria! They play live every 2nd Sunday of the month at Maria's Taco-Xpress in Austin.12:00 - 2:00pm. From Denver Colorado,'Wild' Will Dunlap made his mark in Austin during the 1980s as a session player and club musician.He co-fronted two local rock groups:'The Rockaholics and Childsplay'at local clubs like 'Steamboat''The Austin Outhouse' and at 'Thundercloud beer Garden'. Great sounding audio plus: This CD also contains more than ten never released songs as mp3s![just open them up on your computer]. Track number one 'In the Wind' let's you know right away that Shann has what it takes.On 'In the Wind' she uses her sultry voice as opposed to her bluesy voice.Track two 'South Austin Gal' has been featured on KOOP 91.7fm 'Thanks Ted Branson' radio in Austin.It's a fun little shuffle that takes the listener on a whirlwind tour of South Austin Texas.Track three 'Have you seen her?' asks the age old question : Where's the one I've been searching for? Track Four 'Single mans Blues' is wonderfully preformed Blues track interpreted from a woman's perspective by Shannon.Track five is Carl's cool,rocking song 'Cabin Fever'.Track Six is the compelling,half Spoken and half sung 'Tangible Love'. Track Seven 'The Garden' tells a story of a woman who must seek her personal peace and eventually finds it.The funky title track:'Do your own Thang!'encourages people not to always follow the cultural norms of today. Note from the producer: Shannon is one of the best singers I've heard in a long time.I had a blast writing and working on this project with Jack,Shannon,Sam and Carl!.I hope you will really enjoy this disc and be sure to always: 'DO YOUR OWN THANG!' Hidden Tracks,super smooth mastering thanks to Jim Wilson at 'Yes' Mastering and a real,record looking CD disc with a hand stamped CD cover make this a very unique offering.


Artist: Will Dunlap & Friends
Title: Do Your Own Thang!
Genre: Blues
Release Date: 18/10/2005
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 634479368912
This product is a special order