All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock











  • By Windrush
  • Release 28/04/2009
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: £9.36

Product Notes

Rising from the still glowing embers of the much celebrated 60's music scene on the far east side of Columbus (Ohio), that forged the likes of the Penetrations, Deadlys, Myrchents, Caravelles, Crestmen, Gears and Marquis, 3 survivors who never stopped rockin' continue this musical legacy as Windrush, combining the musical freedom of the 60's with pieces and parts of the sounds that shaped guitar-based rock throughout the years since then. If it's loud, if it's electric and if it rocks, no matter what the era or genre, you may hear it in Windrush. . Windrush has deep roots in that glorious Columbus music scene, with two members who played in classic Columbus garage bands that secured their place in Columbus music history with their recordings on the now legendary Hillside 1966 LP - recordings which have since reappeared on a variety of highly collectible compilation albums throughout the world. Windrush came together in the summer of 2002 when two former Walnut Ridge high-school classmates, Mike Casey and Doug Tracy, reconnected at a gathering at Reynoldsburg's venerable hangout, the Pour House. Mike was a guitar player with the Penetrations, who were one of the bands with a track on the infamous Hillside 1966 LP. Doug is a long-time guitarist and music collector, with many ties to the Columbus music community. The conversation immediately turned to music and both decided the time was right to start playing once again. At that point the flame was lit. The Pour House is now gone, but, fittingly, from that now empty place, Windrush emerged. It started with Mike and Doug jamming from time to time, but picked up speed when Bob McCarthy, another WR classmate, jumped in to play drums. Starting with the Carnaby Knaves and the Deadlys (also one of the Hillside 1966 recording artists), Bob has spent a lifetime drumming with, among many other bands, the Myrchents, Jamburger and Annie Oakley. Bassist John Green was next to climb aboard. John is the husband of yet another WR classmate and formerly played bass with the Iowa band, the Trojans. Windrush was now a band. The plan, if you can call it that, was simply to do the thing we all loved to do - play music and 'see what happens'. After a couple of get-acquainted gigs playing the usual covers, we soon discovered that all of us shared a craving to write and record our own songs, so the time was right for Windrush to become a vehicle for doing just that. With the advent of accessible consumer-based digital recording equipment and the growth of online independent music outlets, all the pieces were in place for Windrush to begin writing and recording. One original song led to another and we quickly found ourselves with a growing inventory of recordings that we wanted to share. The time was right for our first CD. This debut CD is a direct result of our ongoing passion for music and a desire to create something original and inspiring. We consider ourselves refugees (or maybe survivors) from the Woodstock generation, who share a common passion for one thing - music that rocks and has a groove and we think that shows in the tracks on this, our first, CD.


Artist: Windrush
Title: Windrush
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 28/04/2009
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 884501132749
This product is a special order