All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock









Writer's Hang 1 /  Various

Writer's Hang 1 / Various

Share Twitter
Price: £16.05

Product Notes

WingTip Productions is proud to announce the release of it's first CD compilation The Writer's Hang Volume I - modern singer-songwriters you need to hear. The moody CD collection features nationally recognized artists, and is a great reflection of the spirit, intimacy and quality of The Writer's Hang event. For those who don't know, The Writer's Hang is the unique and acclaimed monthly songwriter series held out of the living room-style back room of The Goldhawk (formerly The Liquid Lounge) in Hoboken, NJ. Since it debuted in 1998, The Writer's Hang has been hailed for creating it's own 'listening room' scene, putting on outstanding shows & attracting a loyal following, as well as showcasing some of the country's best modern singer-songwriters. These artists, major label & independent, span a wide variety of genres, and include some names who don't normally play such small venues. The Writer's Hang was conceived by nationally touring artist & producer Scott E. Moore. After playing some of the best acoustic music venues in the country, Moore longed to find gigs closer to home that had listening room crowds & high-quality, under-exposed artists. Moore decided to fill the void by creating his own 'dream gig.' With his background not only as a musician, but also as an award-winning producer/director, Moore brings to The Writer's Hang a unique blend of talent: performer, interviewer, side-musician and charismatic host. In it's three-plus years, The Writer's Hang has evolved into more than just the monthly event, it's become a 'gig to get' for musicians, a ritual for music fans, and a context for people to discover new artists. The fifteen artists on the CD come from all over: New York, New Jersey, Los Angeles, Nashville, Philadelphia, Colorado and Canada. Their tracks were chosen from hundreds of recordings by the more than 70 songwriters who have performed the series. The CD is not recorded live at The Writer's Hang, the selections are intimate and spacious studio recordings that reflect the vibe of the Writer's Hang shows. The CD takes you on a journey inside yourself -- from the yearning, jazzy & soulful KJ Denhert to an angst-filled accordion ballad by popstress Julia Greenberg to an R&B-tinged acoustic rock tune by former Joan Jett guitarist Ricky Byrd. Bob Delevante's nostaligic 'Why Don't You Love Me' is a tender Americana story featuring vocals by country music legend Emmylou Harris and bass by E Street Band member Garry Tallent. Larry John McNally, who has written songs for Bonnie Raitt, Rod Stewart, Aaron Neville & Don Henley, contributes the lilting 'Over Fences' with the atmospheric help of Shawn Colvin producer/guitarist John Leventhal (Grammy winner, too). Every track on the disc is equally as impressive in it's own way. Like the show itself, The Writer's Hang Vol. I CD features a very eclectic mix of world-class artists, with a variety of musical styles, but maintains a very consistent mood, providing a listening experience perfect for late nights, early mornings, lazy afternoons or road trips. Enjoy the ride.


Artist: Various Artists
Title: Writer's Hang 1 / Various
Genre: Folk
Release Date: 11/09/2001
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 641444908424