All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock









Mourning Son

Mourning Son

  • By Xu Xu Fang
  • Release 04/06/2008
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: £8.43

Currently Out of Stock
privacy policy

Product Notes

The Los Angeles-based psych-rock band XU XU FANG has been making major waves in their hometown since the release of their critically lauded 2007 12" single "These Days." The band is led by producer, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Bobby Tamkin--who previously played with The Warlocks and Hovercraft and operates Culver City, CA recording studio The Sound Ranch-and their recently self-released SEVEN DAYS NOW EP has made it to #1 on the Amazon Trip-Hop MP3 Album Chart and #4 on the Amazon Psychedelic Rock MP3 Album Chart--behind Pink Floyd, The Rolling Stones and Jimi Hendrix--remaining on both charts for several weeks. The release has fueled the LA Weekly Music Award-winning band to national attention. Offering a dark-and-brooding, slow-and-rolling musical experience, XU XU FANG has received rave critical reviews, several placements on the CW's "Gossip Girl" and regular play on Los Angeles' influential NPR station KCRW. The success of SEVEN DAYS NOW also propelled XU XU FANG's 2008 EP The Mourning Son--mixed by Tamkin with Mark Needham (Fleetwood Mac, The Killers) and Rick Parker (Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Dandy Warhols)--up the Amazon Psychedelic Rock Chart joining SEVEN DAYS NOW in the Top 5. XU XU FANG's EPs have simultaneously been in the Top 5 a number of times in the past few weeks. SEVEN DAYS NOW was released physically this spring and includes the band's cover of The Cure's "Fascination Street"--a favorite of Sex Pistols guitarist and former Indie 103.1 deejay Steve Jones. Breakout single "Your Way" was featured on Gossip Girl in April and landed on KCRW's Top 50 singles chart. Of the EP, wrote "Xu Xu Fang has jumped from psychedelic shoegaze to a blend of trip-hop and shoegaze with unbelievable ease. It translates gorgeously across each song, such as on Seven Days Now, a downtempo affair full of breathy female vocals eclipsed by heavy stoner riffs toward the end...The band also succeeds when jumping outside of it's comfort zone, like on the CD-only 'Where Is Everybody,' a song made for arthouse soundtracks, and the fast-paced, foot-stomper 'Underground.' They are both sonically out of place, yet they still fit within the EP's boundaries. And that is what makes Xu Xu Fang both so much fun to listen to and just so damn good. (Andrew Martin, June 4, 2009)."


Artist: Xu Xu Fang
Title: Mourning Son
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 04/06/2008
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 724101201929