All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock











  • By YAM
  • Release 05/05/2009
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: £11.23

Product Notes

YAM 70's epic prog-rock meets indie, punk and new wave in this sometimes deep and technical, but mostly casual and clever 'band of leisure.' YAM are: - Jason English - vocals, bass, organs, etc. - Patrick Lenihan - guitar & vocals - Chris Smith - drums, coughs about the album: 'Assumptions' by YAM is an album that is appropriately titled - as it is full of stories about misinformed assumptions, and the consequences that can result thereof (hint: usually death). That said it is really a lot of fun! If you like energetic rock with a sarcastic wit and surprising turns around each corner, YAM could be your ticket. Why get the CD? The original CD has a limited pressing of a mindblowing art piece by [seaholm] that is worth staring at for a while. We also believe the sound of a properly pressed CD from a gold master tends to retain more of the depth of field of the original music than a compressed audio file. That said, we have nothing against online music if you prefer downloads. History of the band: YAM, from Dallas, TX is a 3-piece band that blends 70's prog rock with the casual and informal sensibilities of more recent electronic, folk rock and punk styles. 2/3 of YAM started as a project called 'You & Me' and recorded an album in 2005 titled 'formerly high horse.' The disc received some good reviews, but the band itself never solidified as a lineup and only played a few local shows. YAM discovered one day that moving air around in varying patterns and frequencies resulted in widely varying responses in other humans that could not be attributed to environmental factors. In 2005 YAM started documenting it's musical observations in a studio on a weekly experimental basis with recording guru Salim Nourallah. Originally just a recording project of songs penned by guitarist Patrick Lenihan and bassist Jason English (also playing drums at the time and singing), the group played a couple live shows to present their findings. Chris Smith (Deep Snapper) joined the group on stage in 2007 and remained on to help write new songs. The current trio had played together in previous bands (The Gift, Squelch's) and they take the music seriously while still taking it easy at all times - any other approach would make a band a chore. YAM's new album "Assumptions" due April 2009 is a collection of catchy tales and epic romps about meeting your maker (and hopefully having some fun first). YAM is ready to take the stage in 2009 and, basically, rock.


Artist: YAM
Title: Assumptions
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 05/05/2009
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 791381848625
This product is a special order


  • Artist(s)